Book Reviews

A Work in Progress by Connor Franta – Book Review

Okay so before we start – yes, I know I’m a terrible person. I announced a month ago that I was back from my blogging break and I disappeared again after only one post. I’m sorry but the procrastination ghost came to haunt me back yet again. I’m going to try to post more often now (though we all know how that is going to work out *sweats and laughs nervously*)


So a few days ago, I started to read ‘A Work in Progress’, a book by one of my favorite LGBT YouTubers, Connor Franta (such a cute, precious and smol bean), which is a memoir that centers around Connor’s childhood and his current life. In this book, Connor talks about everything from his past life and how he decided to make YouTube his career, to how he struggled while coming out as gay and how he dealt with all of his problems.

19848872_1913687165556855_1886939554_n.jpg

My thoughts

“Forget about self-image and self-judgment. It’s about self-love, and no one teaches you that at school. No one teaches you that if you accept and love yourself, nothing and no one can touch you. 
This is the only face and body you’re ever going to get, so be comfortable and happy in it. Own it. Own every aspect of who you are and present it to the world with the utmost pride.” – Connor Franta, A Work in Progress.

I quite liked reading this book. It contained many important lessons and encouraging words for struggling teenagers. It was very wise, genuine, and inspiring, as well as artsy and aesthetic with beautiful pictures inside. In the book, Connor included his childhood stories – some of them will melt your heart, while some will make you laugh out loud. You’ll find that many motivational and incredible lessons can be learned from each story from his past. This book was just so Connor-like and it just screamed Connor Franta (!!!!!!!) while I was reading it, because it’s written so artistically and honestly and it’s clear that Connor has poured his heart and soul into the words. 

But now, let’s get to the part where I complain about the things I didn’t like about the book, for example: Connor’s life wasn’t really that special. His childhood wasn’t really that interesting, you know? Or maybe it was just that it wasn’t written in a funny way. Even though I love the way he has written everything so nicely and how his words are inspiring, i thought the book was (kinda?) boring. It just wasn’t a book that gets you hooked and keeps you turning the pages. It took me more than a week to complete this, which is saying something because I usually complete 200-paged books in two or three days. I just wasn’t interested enough, which I still can’t understand because I love Connor Franta, and as I’ve mentioned above, he’s one of my favorite YouTubers. I mean, don’t get me wrong: all the good things about the book that I have mentioned above are absolutely true. It’s inspiring and aesthetic and very motivational. But the thing is: I was looking for some more fun. Take Binge by Tyler Oakley (another Youtuber), for example. Tyler has written all the shenanigans he got up to when he was a child, in a very fun, light-hearted, and hilarious way. A work in Progress though? I don’t know, it just wasn’t funny enough. Yes, it did contain Connor’s sassy remarks but it didn’t rise up to my expectations. 

Overall

As aesthetically pleasing it was with it’s photographs, and as motivational it was with it’s inspiring words, this book unfortunately didn’t make it into my ‘best YouTuber books’ list. It’s not like I didn’t like it, because I did. It was beautiful and great. It was so creative, and it contained Connor’s feelings and all the things that made him the person he is now. He talks about his sexuality, his struggle with his body image, and how he overcame his insecurities. It was, overall, not really as funny as I expected it to be, but honestly, not really a bad book. Somewhere in the middle of perfect and not-perfect. I’d give it a solid 3.5/5, and I would recommend it to people who like his YouTube channel (though I’m pretty sure 95% of his fans have read this already) and also teenagers who need some motivation in their lives.  

Leave a Reply

