Wrap-ups and TBRs

April & May Wrap-up + June TBR

APRIL & MAY WRAP-UP

April

  • Wonder by R.J Palacio

My rating:                                                                                                                   five-stars

So the first book I got to read in April was Wonder, by R.J Palacio, and it was heartbreaking and wonderful and so mind blowing. Wonder is about a young boy named August ‘Auggie’ Pullman whose face is deformed, and because of that, people judge him as view him as ‘ugly’. He’s actually a normal boy, but because of deformity, nobody wants to be friends with him when he first starts school in fifth grade (before that he was home-schooled). Wonder is a delightful book which teaches us so many important messages (especially the message of acceptance) and I would 10/10 recommend this to both kids and adults.

  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer

My rating:                                                                                                                 four-stars_0

I don’t even know where to start with this book. Seriously. This book broke me. It was so good but it was so heartbreaking. I was in tears by the end of it. It’s a prequel to Alice in Wonderland, and it’s about the Queen of Hearts and how she turned evil. It’s her origin story. Basically, it’s about a girl called Catherine who is a very happy and sweet little girl who wants to be a baker when she grows up and like any other teen, is in love for the first time. But a turn of events (actually, lots and lots of turns – because this book was full of plot twists) changes her life completely, and from a delightful young girl she turns into a monstrous woman, who we know as the Queen of Hearts. The main character goes through major character development.

The book goes from being light-hearted and adorable to very, very dark. It was a bit slow at first and hard to get into, but gradually the plot thickened and everything came into place, making it more interesting.

This book really changed my view on the Queen of Hearts. Who I once viewed as a terrible woman, is now a character who I pity a lot and mourn for. I’d definitely recommend this book because it’s amazing. This might not be the best book you’ve ever read but it is pretty good.

  • Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

My rating:                                                                                                                   five-stars

This is my favorite LGBTQ book and I love it so much. I only read it two months ago and I’ve already re-read it three times (!!!) Brief synopsis: It’s about a gay teenager who get’s blackmailed because someone finds out he likes boys (he’s not out of the closet yet) and then he gets scared about it. He also has an online boyfriend who goes to his school but he hasn’t really ever met him yet or known who is (they’re anonymous in their emails to each other). I don’t think you really got to understand what goes on in that book from that synopsis but I such at blurbs and things like that so … oh well, idk just go read the goodreads synopsis or something. 

Back to my thoughts on this book: It’s so interesting and entertaining and it had me laughing from the first page ok no, not the first page because the first chapter was kind-of sad because of the whole blackmailing thing but tHIS BOOK WAS SO DELIGHTFUL AND HILARIOUS I LOVED IT SO MUCH PLEASE GO READ IT. IT GENUINELY MADE ME HAPPY.

  • Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll 

My rating:                                                                                                                  five-stars

I saw the movie ages ago, but I never got to read the book. I saw this was on sale in a bookstore so I obviously had to buy it! It was so good! I also bought it because I was about to start reading Heartless and I wanted to read this book first so that I could understand the whole plot. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is a wonderful children’s book.

may

 

 

 

  • Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan

My rating:                                                                                                                 five-stars

Okay, so I’ll just admit it – I do not remember most of what happened in this book and that makes me feel terrible. I just read it a month ago. I do not know what’s wrong with me but I’ll have to re-read it (obviously). But I do remember liking it after I read it, plus it’s by one of my favorite authors (Rick Riordan) so I’m sure it was absolutely wonderful, and that’s why I’ve given it four stars. 

  • Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

My rating:                                                                                                                 four-stars_0

Flawed is my favorite dystopian novel. It ended at a cliffhanger aND NOW I WANT TO BUY PART 2 OF THE BOOK SERIE BUT I’M BROKE 😦 

  • Carry on by Rainbow Rowell

My rating:                                                                                                                 five-stars

It did feel a bit similar to Harry Potter (????) But idk I just really really liked it – I liked the plot and the characters and the whole story (and now Snowbaz is my OTP lol) I was just a bit unhappy with the ending – I do not want to give spoilers so I’ll just say that I did not like what happened to Simon at the very end of the book) (Also, Simon and Baz are the cutest omg).

june tbr.PNG

This month, I’m looking forward to read:

  • Percy Jackson and the Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan
  • The Amazing Book is Not On Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester
  • Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan
  • Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan
  • Fantastic Beasts: The Original Screenplay by JK Rowling
  • A Work in Progress by Connor Franta.
Leave a Reply

