Interviews

3 days, 3 people, 3 interviews – Day 1: Interview with Jill from abooknerdreads.

3, days, 3 people, 3 interviews is a feature I’ve created for (only) my blog where each month I interview three people in three days in a row. Each month has a new theme (for example, this month, I’ll be interviewing bloggers – and the next month could maybe be bookstagrammers or art bloggers etc.) The three interviews are to go up on the first three days of each month.

This feature was created so that you could get to know some of my favorite people (bloggers, Instagrammers, YouTubers, etc.) and their blogs, lives, etc.

This month’s theme is – Bookbloggers.

On Day 1, I’ll be featuring Jill, the bookish Queen from abooknerdreads. Jill is a bookstagrammer as well as a book blogger. She likes to read, write and sometimes draw or sketch. She’s a feminist and a caffeine addict, and is into photography and LOVES bullet journaling! 

I’m so excited for you to get to know her, so without further ado, let’s get to the interview!


Firstly, can you tell our readers about yourself and your blog?

Hiii I’m Jill, I’m a huge reader, and I have a rather large addiction for caffeine! I blog frequently on Instagram at @booknerd_reads where I photograph pretty books, and on my blog I review these books and express my thoughts in funny gifs.

Why and how did you start blogging? Like, what inspired you to start your blog?

Unlike a lot of bloggers, I can’t really think of anyone who inspired me (directly). I had a Instagram before, back when fandoms were still popular, and one day spotted a few book photos in my recommended. I simply thought “why not” and now I’m here. 

And do you like blogging? Don’t you sometimes get tired of it?

Sometimes, I’ll admit, I get ahead of myself and focus on the likes, the follows, the photos, but those days I need to step back and realize that I can’t push myself too hard, I’ll never be perfect. 

Does blogging pressurize you? I mean, one time, I was under pressure, and I just wanted to leave blogging. I was so tired of it. That was before I realized that blogging is not a chore, of course. Now-a-days, I only blog when I’m in the mood. If I’m not, then I don’t force myself to write … what about you?

There are some days where blogging becomes too much and seems like a chore. Like I said before, I take a step back to rethink myself. Lately I’ve been skipping my daily postings due to school and bad weather, and frankly to rest my mind. Book blogging is stressful, honestly. But it can be the best thing ever, too. I also blog whenever I can, but when I can I don’t feel like it. On those days I pick myself up and say, “Do it.” 

So you’ve been blogging since …?

I started my Instagram in August 2014! Although I began my Blogspot website in January 2015, and switched to WordPress in May 2016. So what I’m saying is, I know what I’m doing. (Pssss No I’m not.) 

Would you like to pursue blogging as a full-time career, if it were possible? 

I’m not certain! While that sounds like a dream, how would I support myself? I’d much rather be a full time writer and part time blogger, I could live with that *wink* 

Do you post very often on your blog? How often do you communicate with your followers?

I’m somewhat absent on my blog, I sometimes post reviews (I’m stalling on not one but two reviews at the moment.) but on Instagram and Twitter I’m very frequently found posting photos, tweeting, and chatting with my internet friends. 

What do you think is the best strategy to get more traffic on a blog?

Promote! Promote! I talk about my Twitter on Instagram and blog, talk about my Instagram on Twitter and my blog, talk about my blog on Instagram and Twitter. 

How would you describe your blogging style?

I tend to be more casual and (sometimes, but not really) funny, I love being able to be open about anything with my followers in my captions. As for my reviews I love being honest about any issues I thought of during the book. I also prefer to post actively and be online at least once a day. 

Can you name one strength that helped you in blogging?

Resilience! I hit a MAJOR photography slump in October but now I’m starting to get back on track over a month later *cringe* And even though I didn’t post on my blog for two months I came back like nothing ever happened!! Don’t give up!
 

Do you sometimes suffer from your writers block? How do you get over it?

SO HERE’S THE THING. I have faced MAJOR writer’s block, especially during the first half of my novel, but eventually I decided to rethink how I was writing the book. After rewriting some of the plot and not trying so hard to be a “sophisticated writer” I finally got through the horrendous writer’s block. But when I attended a Marissa Meyer signing, she said the first step to giving in to writer’s block is accepting the term, so you MUST no think of it that way. ERASE THE WORD WRITER’S BLOCK FROM YOUR MIND. You should be good from there. 

Have you met someone interesting or famous on your blog journey? And have you made some blogger-friends?

Famous? I can’t say I have, but I’ve made lots and lots of book buddies (Who I have yet to meet in REAL LIFE, but the chat rooms are just as nice as my cozy bed.) They’re pretty much the greatest thing about blogging, these people I know only by name that I talk to as often as the friends I see face to face. My best advice is make blogger friends, it will tie together the whole experience! 

What’s the best thing about blogging, in your opinion?

Did I not explain above? MAKE BLOGGER BUDDIES. But I’d say the changes I’ve made in perspectives from diverse bloggers and the promotional opportunities I’ve received from blogging are a close second (and third?)

And lastly, would you encourage other people to make a blog?

Y-YES! You can’t get ARCs without a blog, and while ARCs aren’t everything, just make a blog to expand on your bookish endeavors. I do reviews, discussions, rants (kinda), & unboxings on my blog. I also recommend WordPress (I don’t like blogspot but if it works for you, that’s good too.) Have fun and don’t stress about posting as a chore!

I’d like to thank Jill for giving me some of her time and letting me interview her! She’s a wonderful blogger, I hope you’ll go and give her blog a read and a follow! You can find her on:

Instagram:                                                                          

Twitter:

Tumblr:

If you want to be featured on 3 days, 3 people, 3 interviews, you can contact me on fictionalwritingsandi@gmail.com

 

One thought on “3 days, 3 people, 3 interviews – Day 1: Interview with Jill from abooknerdreads.

Leave a Reply

